Presenting the Winners of Operalia 2019!


Presenting the Winners of Operalia 2019

Operalia 2019 is proud to present the winners of this year’s competition.

Held at the Prague National Theater, this year’s First Prize honors were awarded to Adriana Gonzalez (soprano, Guatemala) and Xabier Anduaga(tenor, Spain).

Second Prize honors were awarded to Maria Kataeva (mezzo-soprano, Russia) and Gihoon Kim (baritone, South Korea), both of whom were voted as audience favorites.

Christina Nilsson (soprano, Sweden) and Aryeh Nussbaum Cohen(countertenor, USA/Germany) were awarded the Third Prize. The Pepita Embil Zarzuela Prize was awarded to Adriana Gonzalez and the Plácido Domingo Ferrer Zarzuela Prize was awarded to Xabier Anduaga. Russian soprano Anna Shapovalova was awarded the CulturArte de Puerto Rico Prize. The Birgit Nilsson Prize was awarded to Felicia Moore (soprano, USA) and Christina Nilsson (soprano, Sweden).

This year marked the 27th anniversary of Operalia, which was founded by Plácido Domingo in 1993 and has brought some of opera’s most celebrated singers onto the world stage, including Sonya Yoncheva, Joyce DiDonato, Rolando Villazón, and many others.

For the next six months, audiences around the world can watch the final round and award ceremony for free on-demand on

Congratulations to all the winners and participants for another great year!

Dejar respuesta

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here