Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2019



The Lorenzo Natali Media Prize was launched in 1992 to recognise excellence in reporting on development issues, inequalities, human rights and poverty eradication. It was created by DG DEVCO, and named after Lorenzo Natali, a precursor of European development policy.

1. Application period

Applications are open between 18 February and until 14 April 2019 23:59 Central European Time. Apply via our online form.

2. Themes and categories

The overarching theme of the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize is journalism for development. Entries to this year’s competition should relate to development cooperation issues such as, but not limited to, youth, gender equality, health, climate change, etc.

The European Union and its Member States jointly provide over half of all official global development aid, making it the world’s leading donor. The New European Consensus on Development aligns the EU with the United Nations 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

The Prize is open for journalists in the following three categories:

  1. Grand Prize: open to journalists whose media headquarter is located in one of the more than 160 partner countries* with which the European Union engages on development and cooperation.

  2. Europe Prize: open to journalists whose media headquarter is located in one of the countries of the European Union.
  3. Best Emerging Journalist Prize: open to journalists under 30 whose media is headquartered in any country where DG DEVCO and DG NEAR provide development assistance, as well as in the EU Member States.

The applicants will need to choose one of these categories when filling in the application form. Geographic eligibility is based on the headquarters’ location of the media outlet where the work was published. The media outlet must be headquartered in eligible countries.
* Full list of countries can be found here.

3. Eligibility

Publication period
Entries must have been published (print or online) or broadcasted (radio or television) between 10 March 2018 and 9 March 2019.

2018 winners cannot compete again for the 2019 Prize, but are eligible for subsequent editions. Author(s)

Submitted journalistic works can have one or several authors. The participants must be the authors and holders of the copyright and the moral rights of their work.

Language requirements

Entries are accepted in all languages. However, a translation in English, French or Spanish is required for the entries that were not originally published in one of these languages. The entries will be evaluated on the basis of translated texts provided in one these three languages.

For text-based applications, the length limit is 2 000 words. Video and audio entries can be up to 10 minutes long.

The Prize Secretariat reserves the right to disqualify any entry that contains hurtful, misleading, libellous or vulgar content, or that contains any material that could constitute or encourage conduct which would be considered a criminal offence, give rise to civil liability, or otherwise violate any national or international law.

Plagiarism, which includes the unauthorised use of the language and thoughts of another author and the representation of them as one’s own, will result in disqualification. Retrospective discovery of plagiarism will result in revocation of title of winners.

4. Selection process

Evaluation criteria
The entries will be assessed on clearly pre-defined criteria. Relevance to development issues will be the main criterion. A zero score in the relevance area will disqualify the entry.

The evaluation will be based on the following criteria (on a scale from 0 to 5). The ten entries with the highest score for each category will be submitted to the Grand Jury for final evaluation:

  1. Relevance to the development theme – the entry covers development issues described in the framework of the Sustainable Development Goals or the European Consensus for Development.

  2. Reporting rigour – the entry is based on well-documented work based on a variety of sources. It is accurate and factual and/or supported by evidence and well-reasoned if it is an opinion piece.
  3. Writing – language, style, structure, clarity language, original approach to the theme, reader’s interest maintained.

  4. Added value – from an impact (it covers a topic with social importance, it brings to light an issue that is important for development, it contributes to making a difference) or an analytical perspective (subject is significant, it provides a thoughtful analysis, it brings clarity).

Pre-selection and selection
The entries will go through a pre-selection phase carried out by journalism schools: Vesalius College of the VUB (Belgium), ESJ PRO Montpellier (France) and Universidad de Pompeu Fabra (Spain). The pre-selected entries will be judged by an independent Grand Jury, composed of recognised figures in journalism, development and cooperation.

Winners will be announced and awarded during the European Development Days in Brussels on 18- 19 June. The decision of the jury shall be final and irrevocable.

5. Prize

There will be up to 3 winners. Categories can be left deserted if quality is not met. Each category winner will receive 10 000€. The winner of the Best Emerging Journalist category will also be offered a work experience opportunity with a media partner.
The winners are expected to participate in the Award Ceremony to be held in Brussels on 18-19 June 2018. The European Commission will cover the cost of the winners’ travel to Brussels for the Award ceremony (in the case of jointly authored or produced items, please note that only one person will be funded).

6. Copyright

The European Commission has the right to reproduce and disseminate the awarded works in its own publications, on its website and in other communications and promotional materials, including, but not limited to, publicity material for the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize.

Dejar respuesta

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here